Visitor Testimonials

Visitor Testimonials

 

“Stop here for help”
We were killing some time and trying to wait out a storm and decided to try this museum. We love museums and rarely miss an opportunity. The staff here is so helpful! They told us all about the exhibits, the area, suggested places to get some food, marked things on a visitor's map so we wouldn't get lost. The museum is very old school - a pretty good gem and mineral exhibit, a small natural history area, and a very detailed exhibit on the ferries.
-Trip Advisor Review (traveler from North Carolina) December 18, 2014

“High knowledge gain in a small museum”
We adquired good science knowledge together with my wife and child. Very well displayed all the rich elements in all the museum. Congratulations to all supporters and keep up with more attractions as more plants, minerals, insects and animals.!
-Trip Advisor Review (traveler from Argentina) December 16, 2014

“What an understated Gem!”
This museum will shortly move further from the ferry terminal, to a location with more space. But they do wonders with what they have now, and richly deserve to be better publicised, and supported, mainly for local and natural history exhibits.
-Trip Advisor Review (traveler from UK) September 18, 2014

“Lots To See, But Not Too Much!”
My wife and I have been to Manhattan several times and have visited a lot of the main tourist attractions and museums there, so before our most recent trip we searched online for other inexpensive historical/cultural/educational things to do. We found the Staten Island Museum, and were excited about the "Return of the 17-year Cicadas" Exhibition as we'd seen cicadas before but didn't know much about them. The Museum building itself impressed us right away as it's an old house and was spotlessly clean, and the friendly staff members were fun to talk with and helpful. The Cicada exhibition was our favorite-the more we checked the displays and read, the more we got into it. All of the other displays were interesting too, and though some of the things weren't from Staten Island, they were connected to Staten Island. The Museum had a real charm to it because it's a manageable size for looking through without any pressure, and also because the slower pace of things on Staten Island was a nice change from Manhattan.
-Trip Advisor Review (traveler from Japan) May 7, 2014

“Interesting and informative”
Really didn't know what to expect when we stumbled across this museum but stone me! We found the mixture of natural science and history very informative. The staff were very helpful and happy to chat and share their knowledge. There personal passion was obvious and this was delightful. I would recommend this museum highly.
-Trip Advisor Review, October 21, 2013

“Very Nice”
Wasn't sure what to expect here, but it was great. Lots of hands-on science and ecological stuff. My kids were suffering from lets-go-back-to-times-squareitis, but I was pleasantly surprised that they really got into it. I had to pull all three of my kids out of there. Allow about an hour, especially if the kids get into drawing birds, etc....Well worth the small fee.
-Trip Advisor Review, June 17, 2013

"Another secret”
The SI Museum gets some tourist traffic, but i think way too many Staten Islanders have yet to discover it. They have some interesting displays and the staff works incredibly hard to keep things fresh & interesting.

- Trip Advisor Review, April 12, 2013


“Low key and pleasant”
I don't tend to think of any part of NYC as low key and relaxing, but that is what this little museum is! I took the ferry and spotted the museum easily from just outside the terminal. The staff was welcoming, and the several small exhibits were interesting. Don't miss the glow in the dark rocks!

- Trip Advisor Review, March 29, 2013


“Very informative museum. Lovely staff.”
My wife and I stepped off of the Staten Island ferry and thought that we had been transported to a quiet English country town. Was this still New York? The small museum was very informative. The staff even told us to come back after noon as it would then be free! How honest! We learned about the history of the Island, the dreaded invasion of cicadas and the history of the ferry… I would recommend a visit here.
                                                                         
- Trip Advisor Review, March 26, 2013


Step off the ferry and see Staten Island!”
In several visits to NYC we have taken the ferry to get great view of the NY skyline and the Statue of Liberty. Until recently, we never explored Staten Island before returning to Manhattan.

The Staten Island museum was just $3 a person [As of January 1, 2013 the recommended regular admission is $5] and was an interesting diversion. There are several different collections in the museum, and we particularly enjoyed seeing the artifacts detailing the history of the Ferry. The museum takes an hour or so to tour and is a great way to something more than Manhattan.

The info in the museum made us want to see more of Staten Island when we visit NYC another time. Give it a try!
- Trip Advisor Review, October 26, 2012


This is a small and rather quirky museum, but it's worth visiting once — and the best aspect is actually their walking tours, which transpire in many different & interesting (and sometimes really lovely) sections of Staten Island.
-Susan L.
Yelp Review, April 19, 2011

 

A strange and offbeat little museum that I stumbled into the other day out of a morbid curiousity to see the butterflies carcasses mounted on the walls.The museum itself is tiny but they have an extensive collection of ferries past and mounted butterflies and bugs on the walls. Personally I'm not that big on seeing dead bugs on the walls but to each his own.

In the back they also have the glow in the dark rocks which I rather liked and stuffed seagulls from different parts of the island. Seriously, this place is like a taxidermists dream come true.The second floor is leaves. I don't know why but if you like leaves or just want some privacy this place is for you.
FYI: for those looking to save a buck, the sign at the front said admission is free on Tuesday and Fridays from 12-2pm.

-Alma Z
Yelp Review, January 13, 2009


I love this place- the quintessential little museum with jars of weird animals and cases of insects...history of the ferry...a cool microscope to see all kinds of crystals and rocks super up close. Its kind of like a tini-tiny natural history museum...and they are great about renting the place for neighborhood and community meetings.
-Mary S.
Yelp Review, March 28, 2008

Check out a visitor's blog...Old School/New School Mom September 28, 2010